Meet the board

President – Simon Houtman

Hi all! My name is Simon, and I will be filling in the position of President for this year.

A quick introduction to me: I am 21 years old and have grown up in Veenendaal, a smaller town in the centre of the Netherlands. Right now, I am in my last year of European Public Health, and in my third year at Uros.

I started doing track when I was about 8 years old, so I have been doing this for quite a while now ;). Lately, I have mostly been focusing on the 110m hurdles. However, I don’t mind doing any of the other technical disciplines. Except for shotput. I don’t like shotput. But I’m always up for anything else related to throwing, jumping, or sprinting! I usually don’t do long distances. But once in a blue moon, when I really feel like it, I go out for some longer runs. But no longer than 10k, since honestly, 10k is already way too much for the sprinter in me.

If I’m not doing anything track-related, I also like to play the drums, read, or to hang out with friends. Unfortunately, I do not have a drumkit in Maastricht (the neighbours wouldn’t really like that), so I’m mostly stuck with reading or hanging out with other people ;).

To end this little story about me; I am really looking forward to the upcoming year and I hope to see each and every one of you at the practices and activities :)!

Secretary – Charelle Kooiman

Hi everyone! I’m Charelle Kooiman and I’m the new secretary of Uros. I am 21 years old and originally from a small town near Venlo. I’m currently doing my master’s in Human Movement Sciences, but since I also did my bachelor’s here, this will be my fourth year in Maastricht.

This will be my third year at Uros. I used to do horse riding for almost 13 years, but when I moved to Maastricht I had to stop unfortunately. I thought it was time to try something new, so that’s why I joined Uros two years ago. You will probably find me in the technical group, because I enjoy sprinting, hurdles or javelin. When I’m not with Uros or studying, you can find me at festivals, concerts or just hanging out with friends. I also really like puzzling haha.

As the secretary, I will answer all your emails and also keep track of the members list this year. If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to send me a message or approach me at practice!

Treasurer – Merel Kuper

Hello everyone! I am Merel, Dutch and I am 20 years old. I am studying medicine, I am in the 3rd year of the bachelor. This year I am going to be the treasurer.

I basically have been running my entire life. My parents put me in the stroller for a run when I was 3 months old. After that I just kept running with my parents, and with friends. Right now I am training for the 10 km, but I want to up my game and run a half marathon in the near future (I have been saying this since my first year in Maastricht, but who knows maybe this is the year!).

If I am not running, studying or sleeping, you can most likely find me with a beer in my hand together with some friends.

PR & Sponsoring Commissioner – Esra Nijzing

Hi everyone! My name is Esra and I am the PR & Sponsoring commissioner this year. I am 19 years old and before I started studying in Maastricht I lived in Oudleusen, a realy small town near Zwolle. Right now I am in my second year of the bachelor Health Sciences and this is also my second year at Uros .

When I was 5 years old I startes to do horse riding, but I stopped 3 years ago. I also started track when I was 7 years old, so that is why i also wanted to join Uros when I came te Maastricht. I am in the technical group, because I really like sprinting (especially short sprints). When I am not studying or doing something with Uros, I love to hang out with my friends and have a night out with a nice beer.

I am really looking forward to the next year. And if you have some good ideas or questions, don’t be afraid to reach out to me!